[Guide] Opening a bank account in Georgia

banking
(Ekami) #1

Hi nomads,
Just a little article for you to share my personal experience in opening a bank account in Georgia (the country, not the state).
I’ve put “Guide” in the title to not mix up the fact that I’m not looking for a piece of advice but rather giving them. So it’s not really a guide but rather a bunch of advice and personal experience sharing.

A little background about me: I’m a resident of French Polynesia (so basically with a French Passport). For the context: I’m not a native English speaker but I think I speak the language well enough so native speakers don’t have any difficulties understanding me (and I don’t have the horrible French accent when speaking in English).

So I went to Tbilisi to open an account in Georgia, not knowing which bank I should choose, I decided to open an account in both TBC Bank and Bank of Georgia then test their client support and basically get a hand on how they both work and then close the account in the bank that I like the less… That ended up being Bank of Georgia for 3 reasons:

1. It was very difficult to communicate in English with the in-person representative in one of their branch (the closest branch to TBC headquarters)
  2. They told me many times that I must have a Georgian phone number even tho I told them that I’m a foreigner and I don’t plan to live in Georgia (hence I do not plan to get a permanent phone number from that country). After arguing quite a lot they accepted to try using my US phone number (Google Fi) and that worked… For my registration. Then afterward, after getting access to my online account I would try to re-add my US phone number to activate the 2 steps auth and that wouldn’t work as only Georgian phone number were accepted from there.