Benefitting from Portugal's NHR scheme as a freelancer with foreign clients

Hi Everyone.

I’m hoping the wonderful @tkrunning or anyone else with direct NHR experience may be able to offer some advice/insight.

Specifically:

I’m British but live in Portugal and am tax resident here. I’m also registered for the NHR scheme. Professionally, I am a software developer/systems guy (with a Comp Sci degree) thus my work falls in to one of the favoured NHR liberal professions.

I will shortly start freelancing for a non-PT company, based in Northern Europe.The work I do for them will be exclusively software dev/systems planning and I will do this remotely from my home in Portugal. There may be very occasional on-site visits to their office but that’s it. My work will be auxilliary/preparatory in nature (supporting their in-house dev team) and so there’s no risk of them inadvertently creating a permanent establishment here in PT.

Under NHR, foreign source non-employment income (e.g. self-employed, dividends, royalties etc.) is not subject to income tax in PT if there exists the possibility of it being taxed in the source country. A good example of this is receiving dividends from a UK Ltd company. Under the UK/PT DTA, the UK has the right to charge tax on dividends to non-residents but in practice does not. This is sufficient to meet NHR’s criteria that the income “may” be taxed and thus no tax is due in PT nor the UK.