Clarifying the timeline for investing adn applying for a GV

I am new to this discussion, and confused. If the timeline from application to preliminary approval and scheduling of the interview is 6 months, how can I invest now for a GV and still make the Dec. 31st, 2021 deadline? Do I invest then apply?
Thank you JLC

The consensus seems to be that you need to submit your complete application to SEF before the end of the year in order to qualify based on the current requirements. In order to complete the application, you must get your NIF, open your bank account, make your investment, and obtain documentation of your investment. You will also need your apostilled and translated FBI background check, along with a translation of the apostille. The apostille is usually the long pole in the tent if you are a US person.

Thank you for the quick response. How do people find someone to translate all the documents into Portuguese? Or do they use googletranslate?
JLC

It must be translated by a certified professional translator. Google Translate won’t cut it.

Here is how I handled the process from end to end.

1. I obtained fingerprint cards from a local service bureau. I bought two copies since I’ll surely need another set in the future. You can save a few days by having this done digitally at certain post offices, but it’s substantially more expensive, and the nearest participating post office from my home is hours away.
  2. I applied online for an FBI background check and mailed my fingerprint card as directed. I requested the result to be mailed to me, and sent by email.
  3. When I received the emailed background check PDF, I immediately submitted the electronic copy to languex for professional translation ($20 or so), and to Monument Visa for expedited apostille processing ($50ish). Although you can mail your FBI background check directly to the State Department for apostilling, it would be a starkly false economy as I will explain below.