EU citizen, where to register business?

Hi everyone!

I am negotiating a contractor job with a Canadian company (project management, people ops), and need to understand what salary range I should quote - depending on how much in social tax and other contribution I will have to set aside. So far I have been working as an employee, so it’s my first contractor gig.

I am trying to wrap my head around where to register my company. I have a EU citizenship, but don’t live in my country of origin, and have been traveling quite intensely the whole of 2020 (I know, what a timing, right?). I am mostly concerned with which country is best in terms of tax and bureaucracy.

I am pretty new to the topic and would appreciate any guidance. If there is anyone here who recently did the same research and is eager to share their findings - I’d love to hear from you!

1 Like
1 Like

Thanks for sharing, @pbm!

Just as important as where you register your business, where you live and where your business does it’s banking is very important

1 Like

Kudos for the online bits, that’s a major plus.
Everything else seems to be more entrepreneur-friendly in Romania.

• Corporate tax 3%, or if you have at least one full-time employee it’s 1%.
  • Dividend tax is 8% (dividends can be paid out quarterly or yearly).
  • As an EU member-state you also have access to the rest of the EU-market and so on.

For those living or looking to live in Romania

• You can become employed in your own company (no more working part-time though, microcompanies are required to have at least one full-time employee), that gives you access to the universal health-care,
  • If you’re working in IT, your income tax (10%) can be waived.

You do need to find an accountant or a lawyer to help you register the company, which should cost between 150 and 200 EUR (that cost also includes the company’s registering capital).