Germany scaring off clients?

Hello everybody!

I had found a client in London through an agency (I am an IT consultant). The agency said everything was ok and created a British LLC for me.

I am traveling these days, and don’t really have a fixed place, but right now I am in Germany.

A few days before the start of the project, the customer said that they could not work with me through the British LLC and I have to absolutely set up a German LLC or sole proprietorship, otherwise they cannot work with me. I tried to explain that I am staying at an Airbnb and I will go to another country in a month, but they said that I absolutely have to set up a German LLC (or sole proprietorship, provided it’s in Germany).

This caught everybody by surprise, especially the agency, since up to now the British LLC had worked for everybody.

The agency told me that the customer is scared the German tax authorities might sue them or something like that.

Is it this specific client that is being difficult or is it something that commonly happens with Germany? Are there specific countries that scare off clients?

I really don’t care about staying in Germany, I am leaving anyway, but I would not want to go to another country and have the same thing happen to me again.

Thanks.

1 Like

up to now the British LLC had worked for everybody.

As a basic rule, you are subject to the legislation of the country where you actually work as an employed or a self-employed person. It doesn’t matter where you live or where your employer is based. Therefore, under German law, you need to register your activity in Germany. If you are no longer live in Germany, the German contractor should have no problem in accepting the British LLC invoices.

1 Like

Thanks Luminita,

I pointed this out to the agency, but they totally freaked out, eventually discarding even the German sole proprietorship option and wanting me to actually go back to the country of my passport and working from there .