Tax residency in Portugal

Hello
I have just joined your community. Hoping someone can give me some info or guidance
I am an Irish citizen and have been living in Spain for the last 2 years. I have obtained my residency here and also my NIE number and bank account . I’ve been working on real estate for 2 years

I have a large holding in different cryptocurrencies and they are held in wallets. I am planning on moving to Lisbon this September to avail of the tax benefits ie zero capital gains

My ideal would be to move to Portugal and transfer crypto from my wallet to my exchange, exchange for euro and withdraw to my Portuguese bank account with zero capital gains

Sounds too good to be true. Looking for any help or advice on the process. I’m sure some people here have done similar things
What are the steps? Is it as easy as getting a long term rental and providing this with ID etc to get the NIF, then set up bank account

Thank you in advance

4 Likes

I’m in the same boat. Also considering Portugal and am very curious about the capital gains concerning bitcoin.

Cryptocurrency is tax-free in Portugal

Cryptocurrencies, as with other types of currency, can generate income in a number of different ways:

• Gains from the sale and purchase of coins
  • Profit from commissions charged in services relating to the acquisition of use of cryptocurrency
  • Profit derived from the sale of products or services for cryptocurrency

The Portuguese tax authorities are quoted as saying that cryptocurrency “An exchange of cryptocurrency for ‘real’ currency constitutes an on-demand, VAT-free exercise of services.”

This means that any profit from the purchase and sale of cryptocurrency in Portugal will not be taxed, nor will the exchange of cryptocurrency for other currencies.

Capital gains tax