US Bank account or straight foreign exchange/money transfer

Hi Nomads
This seems to be a typical issue that has come up before. But one that I certainly haven’t been able to solve.Yet. :smiley:

I am a South African resident and tax payer. I have a N26 Euro Bank Account and a US based trading account. My problem starts with the USD trading account. In order to transfer money out of the account I need a USD Bank Acc to transfer the funds into. Yes, I could transfer the money back to SA, BUT I really dont want t do that. Ideally something like Transferwise would be perfect. A worldwide debit card, holds various currencies, would even do away with the need for my N26 Euro Account. I have a physical address in the US as proof of address but no SSN. I don’t really travel to the US so opening an account in person isn’t really an option for now.
First option would be to open a US Bank account online like I mentioned with someone like Transferwise. If this isn’t possible I could use some sort of money transfer/exchange option to move funds out of US trading account into, have them do the foreign exchange and then deposit money into my N26 Euro Account.
Thoughts and advice please.
Merci

Hi Dion,

Without knowing what broker you are using or what asset class(s) you are into, I will have to speculate. While the United States has a strong brand name where investing is concerned, the fact that you don’t live there, are not a citizen or have a social security number are reasons why I feel you should be investing with a non US broker.

For security reasons, most brokers will only remit funds to the account you first funded your account with or your account on their books (again depending on what asset class you are into).

If you have not already funded the investment account, you may want to consider other options that let you setup and fund your account with the ability to move funds in and out without getting to South Africa. Below are some options from Investopedia