Opening a European Bank Account Remotely - An impossible task?

Hi There, I’m a South African/Italian citizen residing in South Africa.
I’ve been searching for a way to accept credit and debit card payments from customers around the world through my online store. Options available to South Africans are limited and I haven’t been able to find a solution. And so I’m hoping I can open a bank account remotely in Europe as either a South African or EU citizen. I could then make use of Stripe to accept payments to a European bank account. Since I am only a resident of South Africa, my proof of address is here, I’m wondering if this will be an issue.
Does anyone have any advice or experience doing this? It’s been a huge stumbling block and I’ve been hitting walls at every turn. Any help would be hugely appreciated! Thanks!

1 Like

Andy you could try TransferWise. You can set up a GBP account that will give you a Sort & Account number. I have an account with AED, EURO and GBP
Also you can set up a Monese account with no proof of address https://monese.com/customers/no-proof-of-address.
You could also register you business in the UK and then open up a Open a business account online - Monese
but you would have to look into the tax implications.

1 Like

Hi Andy,
Agree with Craig re Transferwise, being NZ based myself has proved invaluable. Re the address, I used Clevvermail to establish a mailing address in a European location. I then used this for my N26 account without any issues, and then got Clevvermail to forward the related N26 Mastercard to me in NZ, a bit expensive but a 1-off cost. Also had the option of collecting it from them which I am now doing for other items
Also the N26/Transferwise combo is good as N26 uses TW for transfers to other N26 customers so is very quick
Cheers, Simon

Hello Simon,
Please how do I link transferwise with my N26 account?

Thanks, Akin

Thanks for the advice! @craigfer @sgupton