Canadian citizen looking to get Estonia's digital nomad visa and emigrate there

Hi,

I’m a Canadian citizen that is going to apply for Estonia’s new digital nomad visa that’s rolling out soon.

I would like to run my plan by other people to make sure I am not making any mistakes. My plan is to leave Canada and get Estonia’s digital nomad visa. What I want to know are the following:

1. Once I get Estonia’s digital nomad visa, do I have to stay in Estonia for any given period of time or can I travel?

2. How long do I have to stay out of Canada for my tax residency to change to Estonia?

Thank you,

I’m no expert on Canadian taxes, but I’ll give you my input anyway.

1. No requirement to stay put in Estonia for Estonia’s sake. You’ll only become an Estonian tax resident if you spend 183 out of the past 12 months in the country, however. If Canada will accept this as having established sufficient ties to another country is another question (again, I’m no expert).

2. Depends if you’re trying to permanently get out of the Canadian tax system (becoming tax non-resident in accordance with Canadian domestic law) or becoming tax resident in Estonia in accordance with Article 4 of the Estonia-Canada tax treaty (you may be considered tax resident according to local law in both countries, but the treaty will override Canada’s local law and give Estonia right to tax your income). The former would not be as easy.