Portugal bank with no monthly fees? Current bank recommendations

Hello.

I would appreciate any input you have about your experience with Portugal banks and whether you know a good option with no monthly fees? I currently have an account with Millenium but I like to avoid the fee if I can. I know Activobank is an option, any experience with that? I am currently a USA resident.

Thank you very much for the help

1 Like

Do you need a local bank account? For having some euros on hand I think wise seems pretty good, but frankly I just use my USA credit card everywhere for payments so Iā€™m not sure I see the need

1 Like

I do need a local bank and I am currently with Millenium. We have bought an apartment in Lisbon which we will be renting out soon and we are a golden visa applicant so I think we do need a local bank. From what I am gathering Activo may be the only option with no monthly fees but you can only open an account with them if you have a European residency card/permit.

1 Like

The solution is serviƧos mƭnimos bancƔrios (minimum banking services)

ā€œMinimum banking services must be provided by all credit institutions authorized to receive deposits from the public, that is, banks, savings banks, central banks and mutual agricultural credit institutions and that make available to the public the services included in the minimum banking services.ā€
ā€¦
"Credit institutions may not charge for the provision of minimum banking services commissions, expenses or other charges that, annually and as a whole, represent an amount greater than 1% of the value of the social support index (IAS), that is, 4,808 euros according to the IAS value in 2023."

Quotes from O que sĆ£o | Portal do Cliente Bancario

My understanding is that the minimum banking services are subject to the condition that no other bank account is open for that account holder.