Portugal: New agency for migration and asylum

The Ministry for Parliamentary Affairs in Portugal confirmed that the new establishment Portuguese Agency for Migration and Asylum would be complete by the end of 2022, replacing the administrative side of SEF.

1 Like

Any word on what this means for us?

2 Likes

As I’m not an expert in this area, I’ll give some insight into it below from one of our legal partners:

"The extinction of SEF was due to many complaints. Over the years, there have been several complaints about abuse of power and authority, and about corruption on the part of the SEF for the legalization of immigrants by illegal means.

Not to mention the delay in the progress of the legalization processes, the communication failures between the employees and the lack of standard of the required documents, leading to a deliberate waste of time for immigrants and unnecessary bureaucracy.

The objective of this change is to improve the organization, speed up response times, doing it through the division of administrative and police competences as well as the distribution of tasks among different public entities.

The Portuguese Agency for Migration and Asylum (APMA) will have the mission to implement public policies in migration and asylum matters, namely to regularize the entry and stay of foreign citizens in national territory, issue opinions on visa applications, asylum and refugee settlement, as well as participating in the implementation of the Portuguese State’s international cooperation policy in the field of migration and asylum.

In sum, the new agency will be responsible for the services most sought after by foreigners, which were previously requested from the SEF:

• Declaration of Arrival in Portugal;
• Issuance of visas for Portugal;
• General information on immigration and documentation;
• Expression of Interest;
• Request for extension of the tourist visa;
• Family Reunification;
• Application for Residence Permit.