What do you think about STACK? (First 0% FX travel card in Canada) 🇨🇦

It looks like Canadians finally have a good travel card available to them: STACK

It’s not an actual bank account, but rather a prepaid Mastercard.

Most important features:

• No fees (including no ATM fees, no foreign exchange fees/markup, and no monthly fees) :moneybag:
  • User friendly app :apple:
  • Cashback/discounts with selected merchants :shopping:
  • Free and instant transfers to other STACK users :fast_forward:

However, since I’m not Canadian/living in Canada, I can’t sign up to try. So instead I want to ask all the :canada:s here if you’ve had the chance to try it yet?

How has your experience been so far?

Would you recommend it to others?

Download their app to sign up :small_red_triangle_down:

1 Like

I’ve been using it for a couple of months and it’s great! I would definitely recommend it to any Canadian traveling. I’ve used it a couple of times in Latin America and can confirm it has no fees and uses Mastercard’s exchange rate. The ATM you use might charge a fee, but I managed to find fee-free ATM’s.

The card also has lots of deals in the app. For instance, I received a year of Netflix for free when I signed up. I believe they were also offering a year of Amazon Prime for free, I’m not sure if the offer is still valid. RFD has a lot of discussion about the card here.

Although the Stack card has no fees, there are some usage limits to consider. Only two ATM withdrawals are permitted each day with a limit of $500 CAD per withdrawal. The monthly ATM withdrawal limit is $2000 CAD. However, for POS (point-of-sale) purchases, the limits are more reasonable. The Cardholder agreement lists all of the limits.

I’m not aware of any other options in Canada for a debit/prepaid card that has no fees. The debit cards that Canadian banks offer usually have a minimum foreign conversion fee of 2.5%. I hope the Stack card leads to some more competition and no-fee offerings.

2 Likes