What funds are on the market/arriving today and what will remain in 3 years

Good morning all,

I’m new to the Golden Visa opportunity, and though i’m decided on Portugal, I don’t quite understand what the market is offering as i’m hearing many opposing rings when it comes to Real-estate funds VS VC funds.

On the one hand i see everywhere that any funds related to real-estate any-which-way won’t be allowed to continue their activities, and that most likely my Visa would get rejected before completion, and on the other hand, when I therefore turn to VC funds, I am told that many of these funds are too capital-risky and not competitive enough when compared to real-estate / transitioning funds in the market.

Would someone please shed some light on this topic, i would be most grateful.

Funds that are invested in real estate are no longer eligible, although no-one’s exactly sure what that means - further regulations may provide more clarity in due course. For instance, there are funds invested in farmland and the provision of student accommodation that seem to be in the clear.

Other than that, you have

(a) non-real estate VC funds invested in companies/projects of various types and size

(b) open-ended equity funds that vaguely track the Portugal PSI20 index (and therefore hold a lot of oil and gas companies, electrical utilities and supermarkets. The two most commonly mentioned are IMGA Portugal and BPI Portugal

Only you can determine which meets your risk tolerance. One advantage of the equity funds is that you can exit when you like, which may be a benefit given the long process (8-10 years) and unpredictable timeframes.

2 Likes

Hi Chris, Thanks for your swift reply, most appreciated.
If i may then, there are a two questions i have on your points.