Passive Income Residence Permit - Portugal

Hello, everyone!

1. Any practical inputs on getting a retired/passive income residence permit in Portugal? (Documents, costs, procedure.)
  2. Any suggestions on efficient lawyers who can help out it this process without taking an arm and leg in fees?
    Thank you in advance!
    Burt
1 Like

Hello Burt, I’m a Portuguese lawyer and happy to assist. Feel free to reach out: guifig@pm.me
Have a great week,
Guilherme

Correct names matter. Retired non-EU citizens who seek a residence permit do so after entering the country on a residence visa. Does that describe your situation? I have the visa and an appointment to get the permit in July. I could help with either or both, mostly by pointing you to the (mostly) excellent summaries on both processes.

Hi, I’m in the process of seeking the same visa. Our time frame is April 2020. Can you please also direct me to the information? Thanks, Cynthia

Hi Cynthia,

Two ways to get the files. First is go to the facebook group ‘Americans & FriendsPT’. Running down the left side of the page are various menu choices. Click on Files. Download ‘2019ObtainingVisa_April.pdf’.

Second way is to download the same file I just put on dropbox:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/9r0yntix8hx0uxt/2019ObtainingVisa_April.pdf?dl=0

Requirements change. Most changes seem designed to slow the flow of visa requests to something the consulate staff can handle. Check back monthly at the facebook group for an updated version.