Portugal Golden Visa while temporary resident of another EU country

Hello and thanks in advance for any replies.

Background:
I’m an American national. I am considering pursuing the Portugal Golden Visa (GV) through a Mercan investment. My main reason for pursuing the Portugal GV is to obtain EU citizenship so I can live in another EU country. I do not have much interest in living in Portugal.

Simultaneously, I am in discussion with my company about moving to a different EU country for work, which I am very excited about.

The catch: Mercan lawyers have informed me that I cannot pursue the Portugal GV if I am a temporary resident of another EU country. This means that I must choose between pursuing Portuguese citizenship through the GV, and living in Europe now.

Question
Does anyone have any creative ideas to work around this, or other paths to consider? This is a big disappointment for me, as I have to choose between pursuing an EU citizenship through the GV and living in Europe now.

Thanks in advance for any help or ideas.

Thanks for your reply.

I would be moved to Germany or Hungary. I actually want to live in Hungary, that is my top choice.

Why pursue the GV? Good question. There is absolutely no guarantee my employer or any other would keep sponsoring my residence in Germany or Hungary for the 8 years required to apply for citizenship in those countries. 8 years is a long time. Who knows if I will even be employed by the same employer at that time.

My understanding is that it’s extremely difficult to get a residence permit in the EU, which is why many consider the GV in the first place. If my company were to stop sponsoring me for a residence visa in Germany or Hungary, I’d be right back where I started, without legal right to live and work in Europe and no path to citizenship in Europe. I could always look for another company to sponsor me to live in Germany or Hungary, but that seems extremely difficult.