Proof of dependency & Proof of studies documents for GV Portugal

Hi everyone,
I’m brand new to nomadgate as we’re just starting our GV application process for our family of three (myself, husband and twenty year old son) . We’re trying to gather all our supporting documents for our son and we’re finding it to be fairly difficult to get the documents requested by our lawyer apostilled (specifically bank statements, school enrollment letters, tuition payments). Does anyone have any suggestions for how to apostille these proof of dependency and proof of studies documents? We can get things notarized first but our Secretary of State in Washington isn’t guaranteeing they will apostille even a notarized bank statement or school letters. They are more positive about the school letter but only with an official seal and wet signature of registrar but it was not a full yes. The bank statements are more challenging.
Any advice, tips, recommendations? Would using a service like Monument provide more assurance of it getting apostilled? Looking for any insight out there.
:grey_question::memo::writing_hand:t3::crystal_ball::grey_question:
Cheers,
Aimie

Hi Amy,
Just to wish you good luck! I also have a son who was 20 when I applied in October last year, but I decided not to include him in the application as I thought it was pretty unlikely he’d still be a student dependent on me under 26yo by the time of my second renewal. Still waiting for my biometrics appointment!
Best C

1 Like

The state apostilles state and county documents. The Dept Of State apostilles federal documents. For non-governmental documents, you’ll have to make do with a notary.

There is a long discussion thread about apostilles a ways back which includes definitions and the like.