Banks you can open an account in the US as a tourist

I’m a Brazilian resident, although from time to time I make business trips to the US. I managed to open a Wells Fargo account while on a trip there, but I really don’t like their fees or international support (no way to receive an access code from outside the US, for example), so I was trying to open an account on Charles Schwab or Capital One. I have a US address that I can use from a coworker and close friend of mine, but both of these banks require a SSN, which I don’t have. Do you know any other option that doesn’t require it?
A friend of mine suggested TDBank, but they focus more on the East Coast, while I mostly go to the West Coast.
Does anyone know any other option?
Thanks in advance!

Sergio,

I’m Brazilian as well, and first would like to ask:
Do you mostly need to PAY in USD or GET PAID in USD?

If you just want to hold or spend USD, options like Revolut card are the best ones.

If you want to pay into US accounts, open a Transferwise virtual account. BTW, people can even transfer money from US accounts to you. Revolut and Transferwise allow you to switch to USD anytime, to benefit from currency fluctuation.

If you really need a standard US bank, check this post:

The guy provided me many details, I almost tried to do it last time I’ve been to the US.
TIP: seems you have to explain to the employee of a bank that no law requires a SSN. Sometimes other branches of the same bank might do it for you. He explains which one worked.

To get a proper address (not PO Box) if needed:

Official US Gov info that SSN are not required for bank accounts:

I quote:
“Although many companies, such as banks and
credit companies, may ask for your Social Security
number, you generally aren’t required to provide one
if you don’t have one.”

I have accounts in many countries (not US) and I’ve learned to simply go somewhere else whenever I face a bank/branch unwilling to do it. Just do the same.