My Top Resources for Nomads, Travelers, & Expats

Having lived a more or less nomadic life for close to a decade, a handful of products and services have proven to make my life on the road much easier and more affordable.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://nomadgate.com/resources/
1 Like

Thanks for this article! Super helpful!

I’m a writer/photographer based in the US. This past spring, I spent a few months in New Zealand and Australia. (Awesome adventures all around!)

Anyway, my US based health insurance plan told me they’d reimburse me for any expenses incurred while traveling, but I’d have to pay for them at the time. That didn’t sound like a very good option for me so I researched companies that offered temporary health insurance for travelers/nomads.

I found GeoBlue travel insurance had excellent rates, various options for length of times needed. I strongly recommend them!. Very reasonable price-wise and their network of doctors/services/emergency is quite extensive. They have a phone app that can quickly find a doctor or medical facility close to your location.

Luckily, I didn’t have any health issues while in NZ or Australia, but it was nice to have peace of mind while on the road!

Here is the link for those who want to check it out: www.geobluetravelinsurance.com

Thanks for everything you do!!

Sasha

1 Like

Hi Thomas :wave:, Many thanks for your comprehensive list of ideas and resources. Any suggestions on the best app for learning :portugal:?
Many thanks :+1::+1:

Very useful list. Agree with most recommendations and used myself several of them.

However, the Google Fi SIM card request did not work at all, even when using a VPN and a US street address. Tried three times and it always got canceled for no clear reason.

Called Google’s support and after they raised my query two supervisory levels, I was told they only send the card to US residents requesting the SIM within the US.